Suzybower's Blog

Creative ideas for church and youth ministry.

Baggage: creative worship

This idea popped into my head the other day whilst I was trying to focus on doing my expenses. The illustration or creative worship session is themed around the idea of baggage and burdens (but I haven’t actually used the idea yet, so the plan is fairly loose).

As people arrive there are loads of different bags in the centre of the room which people sit round (suitcase, tesco bag, backpack etc.). At some point people have to choose a bag to represent the burdens they are carrying. They could perhaps walk around with it for some of the session/service. Then at some point they place their baggage down at the foot of the cross and leave it there:

Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.

1 Peter 5:7 (and Psalm 55:22)

I spoke to someone else about this the other day, and they said it could be quite powerful if some people’s bags were too heavy to carry and others had to share the load. This could add more of a corporate element to the time. But I guess that if you’re loading the bags up with bricks or something, you may just have to make a short health and safety announcement – you don’t want people putting their backs out!

Let me know if you have any further thoughts or reflections on this idea as I would like to put it into practice sometime.

6 Comments»

  ben bell wrote @

i did something similar a few years ago .. i played around with the idea of Jesus as ‘baggage handler’
let us know how you get on …..
btw I’m doing three advent services here at St Stephen’s this year. 6.30pm on the first three sundays of advent …. be great to see you if you’re able to pop down.

  suzybower wrote @

Thanks Ben, your idea sounds great. I’d love to pop along if I’m free. I can’t make the first one as we’ve got our advent service then, but maybe one of the others. Blessings, Suzy xx

  Sam La Roche wrote @

that sounds awesome

would u mind if i used a form of it at solid remix
i am running a whole area looking at repentance and forgiveness

Big Love

  suzybower wrote @

Of course, you’re more than welcome to adapt and use the idea – that’s what the blog is all about. I’d love to hear how it goes (and you never know – I may be bringing some of my YP’s along!). Blessings, Suzy xx

  Tom wrote @

SUZY. Have you tried it yet? I remember my dad running around our old church once upon a time with a backpack full of bricks.
T

  suzybower wrote @

Nope, not tried it yet. I will one day. Funny that your Dad beat me to it! Blessings, x


Leave a Reply

