Suzybower's Blog

Creative ideas for church and youth ministry.

This is not a creative resource

This post is different from all the others, but I felt like I wanted to share it even though it’s not a resource or creative idea.

A lady from my home group gave me a call the other day to let me know she had been praying for me. How lovely. Continuing on, she explained how I had been on her heart, and how when she spent time praying over me she felt like God wanted to say something to me. She said a few things, including:

‘Trust me and I will lead you gently.

Your creativity is part of you, it can never be lost, it will remain as a stream throughout your life, it may change, grow subside and slow, but it will always be there for you to worship access and celebrate me.’

In the past people have said things to me they feel God wants me to hear, but they have never been as detailed and specific as this. I must confess I was a little skeptical at first, but overall I found this so encouraging. I sometimes feel like I need to use my creativity otherwise it may disappear. I often feel guilty that I don’t paint more or use the artistic skills that God has given me – mainly because I don’t think I’m good enough and it will never be perfect (oh the joy of being a perfectionist).

But this has encouraged me to challenge that way of thinking. It’s ok to be relaxed about the whole thing. I’ve got a lifetime to enjoy the gifts that God has blessed me with, and they should be just that – a blessing, rather than something which provokes fear and guilt.

Over the summer someone commissioned me to do a series of paintings. I’m still looking for inspiration for them – but I feel more at peace about it, and feel that God will either ‘lead me gently’ with it, or it’s not something I need to do at the moment.

So there you go – my first blog thats a bit more bloggy than the usual ones.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

